The Research Computing Advisory Committee is a topical committee in the IT Governance structure shown at

The Campus Cyberinfrastructure Plan for 2015-2020‌ outlines the strategic direction of the Research Computing infrastructure for 2015-2020. The first Campus Cyberinfrastructure Plan for 2011-2015. was successfully completed.

The Research Computing Advisory Committee is part of the UFIT . A new subcommittee has been added, to bring the full structure to the one shown in the chart.


The Clinical Translational Science - IT (CTS) oversees the operation of CTS-IT which provides IT support for the activities of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI). The director of CTS-IT is Christopher Barnes.


A two-page document states the Vision for Research Computing.


The Research Computing Advisory Committee is charged as follows:

  • Make recommendations to create a sustainable and appropriate research computing environment.
  • Enable UF researchers to conduct leading edge research.
  • Enable UF researchers to compete for resource allocations within UF and from external sponsors.
  • Encourage state, national and international partnerships with other research institutions.
  • Ensure that information resources that support research are up to date.


The chair’s notes describe the first set of meetings focused on writing the relevant section of the Strategic Plan for IT.

View the Report Archives for a full listing of all previous reports.


Research Computing Advisory Committee Membership 
Paul Avery, ChairProfessor, Physics
Erik Deumens, Vice ChairDirector, Research Computing
S. BalachanderProfessor, Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Peter BarnesAssistant Scientist, Astronomy Department
Rafael Munoz-CarpenaProfessor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Hai-Ping ChengProfessor, Physics
Richard DeasonAssistant Director, AHC IDR
Brad BarbazukFaculty Director, Bioinformatics core, Interdisciplinary Center for Biotechnology Research, Research & Graduate Programs
Lauren McIntyreMolecular Genetics and Microbiology
George MichailidisDirector, Informatics Institute
Dave PokorneyCTO Florida LambdaRail
Sanjay RankaComputer and Information Science Engineering
Laurie N. TaylorDigital Scholarship Librarian, Libraries
Ana Conesa CegarraProfessor, Department of Microbiology and Cell Science, IFAS & Genetics Institute
Jack StennerProfessor of Art and Technology, College of Art
Richard HennigProfessor, Materials Science and Engineering, College of Engineering
Plato SmithData Management Librarian
Alberto RivaAssociate Scientist, Bioinformatics Core, Interdisciplinary Center for Biotechnology Research